2009 NTDTV Chinese International Piano Competition


2009 NTDTV Chinese International Piano Competition
The Chinese International Piano Competition is one of a series of world music events sponsored by New Tang Dynasty Television (NTDTV). Its purpose is to provide Chinese people from around the world with a platform to exchange cultures and arts from East and West.

Preliminaries in Taiwan
Performing Arts Center, National Taiwan University of Arts
59, Sec. 1, Ta-kuan Rd., Panchiao, Taipei, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
Competitions in USA shall take place in New York.
Gerald W. Lynch Theater at John Jay College
899 Tenth Avenue, New York, NY 10019, U.S.A.


Preliminaries in Taiwan will be held in September 5th - 6th, 2009.
Competitions in the USA will be held in October 9th - 11th, 2009.
October 8th (Thu.): Contestant Registration, orientation & rehearsal;
October 9th (Fri.): Preliminaries;
October 10th (Sat.): Semifinals;
October 11th (Sun.): Finals (including Future Star Performance & Award Ceremony).


One Gold Award (US$10,000)
One Silver Award (US$3,000)
One Bronze Award (US$1,000)
A number of outstanding performance award winners.

Panel of Judges

The Panel of Judges for the Chinese International Piano Competition will be composed of professional veteran pianists and they will be responsible for judging the contestants' performances. The decisions of the Panel for all rounds shall be final.
Procedures and Competition Repertoire

1. The Competition is divided into three rounds: Preliminaries, semi-finals, and finals.
1) Preliminary pieces: Contestants may choose to play the 1st movement of any of Mozart Piano Sonatas (K545 excluded). No repeat is needed.
2) Semi-final pieces: Felix Mendelssohn Variations Sérieuses in D minor, Op. 54.
3) Final pieces: Total two required (one from each composer listed below).

1. Contestants may choose to play the 1st movement of any of Beethoven Piano Sonatas. No repeat is needed.
* Piano Sonata No. 17 in D minor, Op. 31, No. 2
* Piano Sonata No. 18 in E-flat major, Op. 31, No. 3
* Piano Sonata No. 21 in C major, Op. 53
* Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57
2. Johann Sebastian Bach / Ferruccio Busoni (transcriptions): Chaconne, from Partita for solo violin No.2 in D minor, BWV 1004, transcribed for piano.
2. Contestants are required to play from memory.
3. The Panel has the right to suspend the playing.

more imfomation http://piano.ntdtv.com/en/